Today’s Must-Read

Column: A World Without Superman

He gave me a hug, a two-armed, waist-wrap-around hug. Like he knew me. Like he was happy to see me. Unless you’re a monster, when a child hugs you the world stops. So I stood there, unmoving until eventually I hugged him back. After a few seconds, he broke the hug and smiled. I had no idea why the boy did it, why he was so damn happy to hug a stranger. Then the boy pointed at me and said one word in accent-shifted English, probably the one of the few English words he knew. He said it like a declaration, like he had discovered something and wanted everyone around him to know.

“Superman!”

This entry was posted in Other Stuff, Reference. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

