The Original Video Bubble Keeps Expanding

New Amazon Chief Steps Up Talent War With Netflix, Courts A-List Creators

Netflix knows it isn’t the only game in town.

If one company has the resources and ambition to compete for the future of streaming content, it’s Amazon. And that future is coming into greater focus under new Amazon Studios chief Jennifer Salke. After taking the top content post in February, Salke has access to a $4.5 billion war chest to find Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos a big, broad hit while also solidifying an executive team after Roy Price and two lieutenants exited following THR reports on claims of sexual harassment and conflicts of interest.

Salke, 53, has to contend not just with Netflix but with competition from other deep-pocketed digital players including Apple, Facebook and YouTube, not to mention studio-owned Hulu and a combined AT&T and Time Warner.

This will be one of the biggest bloodbaths in Hollywood history.

Let’s review: There are only 24 hours in a day. One-third of those hours is called work. One third is called sleep. The other third is divided between getting ready for work and getting ready for sleep and crammingineverythingelselikecookingandeatingandthings.

And then there are the people who take time to run! Or go to the gym.

Where are the numbers of people who are willing to just sit on their asses to watch the flood of stuff all of these services have planned?

Yes, I watched The Method, but I kept kicking myself for not doing other things.

I have ton of unwatched series as it is. Whenever I contemplate the amount of time it would take if — heaven and eternity forbid — all of them were worth watching completely, I grow weak. That is a hell of a chunk of my life to devote! I’m counting on rot to work in my favor: My interest in them will decrease to the point of evaporation and I’ll just delete them and put a different batch in that waiting room.

I can’t be the only person in this position.

Previously here:

TimeWarner In Yet Another Massive Merger That Will FAIL
The Coming Collapse Of Original Video

This entry was posted in So Stupid It Hurts, Video Services. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.